Welcome back!


to Term 3!

The 4T students returned to school after a chilly winter break with many holiday stories. Most used the time for relaxation, catching up with friends or even escaping the cold and flying to somewhere warm. 

Once again, Term 3 is packed full of many exciting learning opportunities including:

  • Weekly coding lessons with our resident expert Melinda

  • Life Ed Van

  • Science experiments

  • House and Chapel services

  • ‘Social Justice’ Day

  • Fundraising and shopping for the Salvation Army

  • ‘Design Your Own’ Experiment science project

  • Visits from science experts and using the senior school science labs

  • Tabloid Sports

  • Visit to Yarralee aged care home

  • Meet the Scientist afternoon

It would come as no surprise that 4T hit the ground running and we have already started some wonderful new topics including division, applying our knowledge of sizzling starts to persuasive writing and our new Integrated topic, ‘Material Matters.’

To kick off our science topic, we ran an experiment called the ‘Clothes Relay’ to understand the importance of conducting ‘fair tests.’ We discovered that every test, or in this case a relay has variables. Variables are the things that can change. But, to make the relay fair we had to have fixed variables. For the relay to be fair we had to make sure that there were equal amounts of clothes (including types and sizes), equal distances to run and equal amounts of team members. 

Continuing along with our whole school theme of Curiosity, what are you excited to know more about this term?

13 Comments on Welcome back!

  1. Tobie
    July 25, 2017 at 10:32 pm (7 years ago)

    Dear 4T,
    I’m excited of all the fun activities that we have this term.

    I want to learn more about weekly coding maybe at home make some games.

    What are you looking forward to?

    Happy learning

    From Tobie

    Reply
  2. Isabel
    July 25, 2017 at 10:33 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    It is great to be back at school! I loved walking into the classroom and seeing lots of happy faces. Anyway I am so curious about fair tests because I want to learn more about fixed variables.
    From Isabel

    Reply
  3. Eddie
    July 25, 2017 at 10:33 pm (7 years ago)

    Dear 4T,

    I hope you all had a fantastic and warm holiday.I know here in melbourne it was freezing .

    I am so excited about doing science and designing our own science project.

    What are you excited about?

    From Ed

    Reply
  4. serenecbgs
    July 25, 2017 at 10:35 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    Term 3 I can see will be very busy! We have a lot of activities this term.

    I am looking forward to knowing more about Science and the different types of scientists. I know there are about 3 but I don’t know them very well.

    What are you looking forward to in this term and why?

    Have a great day!
    Serene

    Reply
  5. Edward
    July 25, 2017 at 10:36 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T,

    I hope you had a relaxing holiday even if you stayed home or went somewhere. I had a great holiday but I didn’t go anywhere. It was really cold in Melbourne so our family had our heater on every day of the holidays!

    I am excited to learn about physical science.
    What are you excited about this term?

    Reply
  6. alicecbgs
    July 25, 2017 at 10:37 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    Term 3 sure looks like a jam packed term! I look forward to almost everything in the weeks. The majority of things look fantastic and I am bursting to find out more!

    The one thing that I am looking forward to the most is definitely all the science talks and learning all the amazing facts that are yet to come!

    I hope all of your term is amazing and full of awesome things! Do you think Harold will kiss me again?!

    Bye for now, Alice!

    Reply
  7. domcbgs
    July 25, 2017 at 10:37 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi there 4T,
    I also just got back from my holiday! Unfortunately my dog died at the start. But then I went on a trip to Sydney and Bungendore.

    I am excited to hear about what science experiments you guys will be doing in class! Remember to not become a Crazy Scientist!

    From, Dom

    Reply
  8. Georgia
    July 26, 2017 at 10:25 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    Learning about variables was fun and I mostly liked the game because it had a lessone and, it was really funny watching all the people put the close on.

    It was a little hard to figure out what a variables was but when we broke the word up it was easy.
    Im exited about the life Ed Van. Can’t what until I hear from you agian.
    Georgia

    Reply
  9. stephaniecbgs
    July 26, 2017 at 10:25 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    When I was on the cold holidays I went to Penang in Malaysia. When we got out of the airport and into the freezing cold Melbourne, I wished we could be back in the warmth.

    I’m really excited to know how to conduct an experiment of my own for the end of term. I would love to know how to conduct an experiment because then I wouldn’t struggle at the end of this term.
    I would also like to learn more about what a physical test is and a chemical test is. This I would love to know because it would be really interesting to learn.

    I can’t wait for the Life Ed Van too!

    I wonder what science experiments we are going to conduct this term?

    From Stephanie.

    Reply
  10. emersoncbgs
    July 26, 2017 at 10:29 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi there 4T
    I just got back from New York and it was so fun. And idid so much fun going to central park and I am also loooking for would to all the existing things we are do this term.
    I can’t wait until all of fun in term 3

    from Emmy

    Reply
  11. David
    July 26, 2017 at 11:16 pm (7 years ago)

    Hello I’m from Mr Smiths 2017 year 5,6 class that’s a nice blog post thanks for Skypeing with us.

    Reply
    • karacbgs
      September 7, 2017 at 11:26 pm (7 years ago)

      Hi David,
      Thanks for commenting.
      We also enjoyed skyping your class to.
      What was your favourite part in skyping us?
      See you
      Kara

      Reply
  12. Ryan
    July 27, 2017 at 10:27 pm (7 years ago)

    Hi 4T
    Term 3 sounds really fun even if it is a short term there are alot of things on and material matters sounds like a fun topic.

    It sounds as if there are so many good expierences to learn.

    From ryan

    Reply

Leave a Reply