Global Read Aloud

During our last term of the year, 4T will be participating in the Global Read Aloud Project (GRA) where classes all over the world connect with each other and discuss their thoughts and predictions about a chosen class novel. 

Watch this video to learn more about the GRA. 

Front Desk Front Cover

The book that has been chosen this year is Front Desk by Kelly Yang. Read the synopsis below and watch the book trailer, then leave a comment with your prediction for the novel. 

For our international visitors, don’t forget to also tell us where you are from in your comment!

Ten year-old Mia Tang moved to the US for a better life, a freer life, but so far, it’s a life where she runs the front desk of a motel while her parents clean rooms. And she’s not even allowed to use the swimming pool. 

 

21 Comments on Global Read Aloud

  1. gabbycbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:11 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T
    I think Mia will have to cope for a little while with mean customers and a mean boss. Then I think she will fight for her point and then she will get her way, I’m still wondering if she will not man the front desk or she will keep going. Do you think I’m right? If you don’t, say what you think will happen in the comments.
    Good vibes only, Gabby.

    Reply
  2. mimicbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:13 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi Everyone!
    I think that in the book Mia will have a hard time when the cranky customers come.
    The boss seems like he doesn’t really want a 10 year old to manage the front desk.
    What do you think will happen next in the story?
    Bye and reply soon (:
    Mimi

    Reply
  3. vedacbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:14 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I think it will be about Mia not giving up and dealing with the angry customers and her boss. I hope it is an intriguing book. I am looking forward to reading the book and also communicating with people all over the world and doing Skype with other students. What do you think will happen in the book?
    Good vibes only, Veda

    Reply
  4. opheliacbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:14 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi Everyone!
    I think in the book that Mia will have a hard time coping with the owner. I think this because in the short video the owner person was very mad because there are people who do not agree with something or don’t like the service.

    Do think my hypothesis is correct if not why don’t you think my hypothesis is correct?

    From Ophelia(◐‿◑)

    Reply
  5. harveylcbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:14 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T

    We all know that this is very exciting. I predict that Mia and her family gets kicked out of the motel because the owner gets fed up with Mia. Her family must get a new job. I’m very excited to skype you.

    What are you excited about and why?
    Bye 🙂 , Harvey

    Reply
  6. avalcbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:15 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi there,
    My name is Ava and this is my class’ blog. I think this books sounds very interesting and will hook me in very easily. I am really excited to share my thoughts about this book with all different classes from around the world.

    From listening to the trailer I think this book will be about Mia and here family trying to treat angry customers and trying to deal with the landlord to keep their jobs.

    What do you think will happen in this book?
    Thanks for reading my comment, Ava

    Reply
  7. olivertcbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:15 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I think Mia Tang will get into trouble with her boss but she will find a way out of it in the end.

    I am looking forward to find out what actually happens. I also am looking forward to Skype with other classes.

    Bye for now.

    Ollie.

    Reply
  8. samocbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:15 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I think what will happen is mia will stop doing stuff at the front door.I Also think there will be a fair bit of problems with the person how is the Owner.
    What do you think will happen?
    Bye 4T from Sam

    Reply
  9. Raphael
    October 7, 2019 at 10:16 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I think Mia Tang will Mia Tang will make friends with the owner, Mr Yao. Her parents will have a better job and Mia Tang will be famous. I think she will be allowed to use the pool. I also think that the story will similar to Malala’s story. I predict that this book will be a little bit about racism.

    Seeya

    Reply
  10. mayacbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:17 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I think Mia Tang will leave the motel and work somewhere else where see can swim in a swimming pool. In the GRA I am looking forward to interacting with others around the world.
    What do think about thoughts?
    Maya.

    Reply
  11. coopercbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:18 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T
    Great post. The GRA sounds like a great and fun thing to do. I predict that the book will be about Mia’s struggles at the front desk and how she gets really annoyed. I also predict that it will be about how she deals with the angry customers. I am looking forward to guessing other students country’s. Which part of the GRA are you most exciting about?
    From Cooper.

    Reply
  12. niamhcbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:18 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi I’m Niamh and I’m in the class 4T.
    I predict that I will enjoy the book and I’m really looking forward to the Global Read Aloud because I have a few friends around Australia and I might be able to see them. And I think that if Mia from the book was real, I think she would be kind and helpful.
    Do you think your going to enjoy the book? Why or why not?
    Signing off for now,
    Niamh.

    Reply
  13. arthurcbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:18 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I am very excited to read the new class novel. I fell bad for Mia’s parents because they have to clean rooms and some rooms must be very dirty, and that is annoying.
    I also feel bad for Mia because she has to work at a motel at ten years old, she also has to put up with mean customers which is not good.
    Do you agree with me.?? Yes or no tell me why.
    Bye 4T

    Reply
  14. sorayacbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:18 pm (5 years ago)

    Hello 4T
    I have a feeling that this book is going to be about the girl and the manger starting out rough and then they slowly get along . Or maybe something goes bad a they have to move back to China. The manger said no please come back and then they come back and live a very happy life. From Soraya your 4T Class mate

    Reply
  15. sambcbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:19 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi, it’s Sam here from Melbourne in the land down under(Australia),
    This is my classes blog. I think front desk might be about perseverance because she needs deal with the landlord and angry customers.

    I’m excited about the secret Skype and which city other people are from.
    Bye for now

    Reply
  16. mikkocbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:19 pm (5 years ago)

    Howdy, 4T!
    I am looking forward to the Global Read Aloud very much; it looks like a great experience! One of the great things that we can do in the GRA is communicate and talk to other students that are participating in the GRA. I am also looking forward to the book, Front Desk.

    Front Desk sounds like a very interesting book. But poor Mia! She seems like she is not enjoying running a front desk. I also feel bad for her parents, who clean rooms. It sounds extremely unfair.

    What do you think about the book?
    Do you think that you will like it and what do you think it is about?

    Your friend, Mikko!

    Reply
  17. Charlie
    October 7, 2019 at 10:20 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi I’m Charlie from Melbourne Australia

    I think the Front Desk will be a good read and I think Mia will have a hard time because she is only ten and she comes from China and her English might not be the best and they might not understand her and that her boss isn’t the nicest and the angry customers but I think she will eventually overcome that struggle of having bad customers and her English.
    In the GRA I’m looking forward to Skyping other student and trying to figure out other people’s country’s and reading the book.

    Reply
  18. lizziecbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:22 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi there I’m Lizzie,

    I think Mia will get put under to much pressure and have a bad time but one of the costumers will teach her to speak American and she will become stronger.I hope it will be a great book.
    I am very excited to do the GRA. Hope you are to. I am most excited to see and speak to new people.

    What do you think will happen in the book?

    From your blogger, Lizzie

    Reply
  19. willncbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:22 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi it is Will here from the land down under ( Australia),
    and this is my classes blog. I can’t wait to start reading Front Desk. In GRA I’m looking forward to talking to other classes and seeing there opinions on the book. From the blurb it doesn’t look that interesting but my teacher has started reading it and says it is really good. Can’t wait to start reading it.
    Have you started reading Front Desk? If so do you like it?
    Seeya

    Reply
  20. islacbgs
    October 7, 2019 at 10:23 pm (5 years ago)

    Hello there,
    My name is Isla, and this is my class blog.
    I come from Melbourne, Australia.
    I think the blurb half hooked me in, because I wouldn’t pickup but it still sounds very interesting.
    I think Mia is very resilient, because she is in a hard situation be is still pushing through. I am excited to find out how she gets though her situation.
    How are you most excited about this book.
    Talk to you soon, Isla

    Reply
  21. Jett coffin
    October 7, 2019 at 10:28 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi I’m jett and I’m from Melbourne, Australia and this is my class blog.

    I think in this book (The Front Desk) Mia will run away from home and go into the city. I think she will not know what she was doing and didn’t realise she had no money. I think she will be homeless for part of her life in the city but will pick her self up and start doing community chores and start earning a little bit of money.
    I reckon she will get a job to just start affording food but not enough to live happily.
    As she works harder and harder I think she will get a pay rise or get promoted which will help her a lot! I think she Will also prove the people that no matter what your in, no matter who you are, no matter what your born into you can be something.

    What do you think will happen?

    Bye good vibe for now,
    J
    E
    T
    T

    Reply

Leave a Reply