Decimals

We use decimals everyday.

Decimal numbers are used in situations where more accuracy or smaller amounts than a whole, is required than the whole numbers can provide. The decimal system is a way to express numbers less than a whole by using the decimal point. Decimals are another way to represent fractions.

Where have you encountered or seen decimals before?

20 Comments on Decimals

  1. Jett coffin
    August 5, 2019 at 11:27 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,

    I’ve only seen decimals a few times when my sister was doing homework but I never really found out what they were they seem challenging but I want to learn them to do something new.

    Thanks bye from

    J
    E
    T
    T

    Reply
  2. coopercbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:29 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    Great post. I see decimals when doing fractions in class. I know that fractions are decimals because you said it in the post but also because fractions are 1 half of a whole or 1 quarter of a whole. I’m also excited to learn about them in class.
    What would we do without decimals?
    Bye for now, Cooper.

    Reply
  3. sorayacbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:29 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T
    I had know idea what decimals where before I read this comment so I don’t really now where i saw them but I did see some a work sheet. I’m excited to lean about some thing new. What do you think decimals are? Bye for now Soraya

    Reply
  4. lizziecbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:30 pm (5 years ago)

    Hey 4T,

    I encounter decimals when I count money or have to figure out how much something is. So mostly at the shops. I find decimals trike, but I just need to practice.

    From Lizzie

    Reply
  5. samocbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:30 pm (5 years ago)

    He 4T,
    I have seen a Decimal in money like in the cents.I don’t know much about decimals but I am ready to lean. I am wonder how are they the Same as fractions.
    Bye 4T.

    Reply
  6. harveylcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:30 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T

    Nice explanation for decimals. You’ve also explained how to use how to use them and the alternatives fractions.

    I’ve encountered decimals when I was in a coding club that’s non school related.

    Is there another alternative to decimals apart from fractions?

    Reply
  7. charlietcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:30 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T
    I like how you went into a lot of detail about where we use decimals and why are the6 used in maths. I also liked how you added a picture that clearly shows some numbers with decimal points.
    I have seen decimal points before but never used them in maths but, I’m excited to learn about them!
    From Charlie

    Reply
  8. audreytcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:31 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,

    I have encountered decimals when I am looking at a stopwatch. This is possible because there are the minutes, the seconds and the milliseconds which are kind of like decimals.

    When have you used a stopwatch?

    Your classmate,
    Audrey

    Reply
  9. avalcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:31 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I don’t really know how to use a decimal but I normally see decimals all around the place. People sometimes use them when using ?.5 meaning half. I have also seen them on a calculator.
    I really liked reading this comment. From Ava.

    Reply
  10. niamhcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:31 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T!!

    I have never actually seen or learnt about decimals and I’m super excited to learn about them, and I’m ready to try my best and to practise them as much as I can.
    What does a decimal number look like?

    From Niamh

    Reply
  11. olivertcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:32 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I don’t know much about decimals. I am excited to learn about them.
    I like the decimal picture you put in.

    I haven’t seen decimals any where.
    From Ollie.

    Reply
  12. mayacbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:33 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I’ve seen decimals on number lines before.Decimals are fractions in between numbers.
    Can you think of a decimal between 1-5 ?
    From Maya.

    Reply
  13. mikkocbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:34 pm (5 years ago)

    Howdy, 4T!

    You are right when you said we all see decimals everyday! Money includes decimals, the cents are like the mini decimal numbers. The dollars are like the whole numbers. The mark in the middle is like the decimal dot, that divides the wholes and mini decimal numbers apart!

    Aren’t decimals like fractions? Isn’t the dot is like the line that splits the numerator and the denominator?

    See you soon, Mikko

    Reply
  14. susiecbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:34 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,

    That was a good description about decimals.
    I have seen decimals in lots of places but mainly in length, height and temperature.

    From Susie

    Reply
  15. Raph
    August 5, 2019 at 11:38 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I have seen decimals in Maths Olympiad before.
    I can’t wait to be learning decimals for it’s my favourite maths topic.

    What’s your favourite maths topic?

    Reply
  16. mimicbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:39 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I am really excited to learn about decimals because I don’t really know what decimals are and how to use them, so this a great time explore what they are!
    I’ve seen decimals in a essential assessment task but I didn’t know how to answer
    Where have you seen a decimal?
    Bye 4T!

    Reply
  17. willncbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:40 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T,
    I see decimals in a lot of places actually, it was my grandpas birthday yesterday and my mum made a cake for him she split in to tenths or in pizza it is usually cut into decimals.
    We also use a lot of decimals in my maths class.

    Reply
  18. gabbycbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:40 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4T
    You explained very clearly how decimals are used or what they are in the maths world. I use decimals in money to determine how much money I have exactly. Where do you use decimals, besides money?
    From Gabby.

    Reply
  19. sambcbgs
    August 5, 2019 at 11:42 pm (5 years ago)

    Hello 4T,
    I’ve seen decimals when I use money or in decimal problems. I see decimals a lot. They’re in time, measurement and money plus a lot of other things.

    What things do you do that requires use of decimals?
    Bye bye, Sam B

    Reply
  20. Veda
    August 5, 2019 at 11:47 pm (5 years ago)

    Hi 4t
    I like how you explained what decimals are used for and said that a decimal is another way to represent a fraction. I agree with you decimals are used in every day life. I encounter decimals sometimes at dinner, if my brother is at football then sometimes I have to use decimals to see how much I have to leave him. How are the values of the different places of decimals different to whole numbers place value.

    Reply

Leave a Reply